NORTH MAC COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #34 REGULAR BOARD MEETING SOUTH CAMPUS MULTI-PURPOSE ROOM May 18, 2011 – 6:30 pm

The meeting was opened by President Stephen Furman at 6:30 pm in the South Campus Multi-purpose room.

Board members present were: Farley Cole, Scott Etter, Stephen Furman, Charles Handy, Robyn Hays, James Matuska, and Mark Sloman.

Also present: Marlene Brady, Ron Graham, Deb Bommarito, Sarah Raynor, Rob Horn, Randy Niles, Bruce Paisley, Cindy Edwards, and Marcia Walter. See attached list of others present.

President Furman welcomed visitors to the board meeting and sent his condolences to the Daniels, Kindred, and DuBois families.

President Furman read resignation letters from Laura Rosentreter, Stephen Humphrey, Christopher Raynor for the end of the 10-11 school year. Randi Anderson resigned as assistant girls basketball coach, and Ruth Ann Payne turned in her letter of resignation for the 14-15 school year.

Deb Bommarito and Sarah Raynor recognized and gave awards to the Young Author winners, Presidential Academic Excellence Awards, American Citizenship awards to students from the Girard Elementary and Virden Elementary schools. See attached list of names.

Marlene Brady handed out Panther Pioneer awards to Dawn Roesch, Connie Schroeder, Kris Eldridge, Erik Berkley, Lori Leytom, Jennifer McQuality, Deb Gripp, and Kara Coffey.

President Furman recognized the following retirees: Marcia Walter, Randy Niles, Carol Hankins, Jeanette Earley, Sandy Reynolds, Teri Flowers, Richelle Laughlin, Debbie Hinds and Sharon Carty.

The board took a break so the students and retirees could have refreshments for award recipients and retirees.

Motion by Sloman, seconded by Etter to approve the consent agenda as presented. Yea vote: Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, and Furman.

Motion by Etter, seconded by Sloman to approve the team size limitations as recommended by the committee. See attachment. Yea vote: Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, Handy, and Furman.

May 18, 2011 Regular Board of Education Page 2

Motion by Etter, seconded by Sloman if a non-teaching employee currently holds a sponsorship or coaching position, the position will be posted yearly with no obligation to interview. Yea vote: Cole, Etter, Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, and Furman.

Motion by Sloman, seconded by Etter to approve the following recommendations from the Assistant Superintendent's report: 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6. Yea vote: Etter, Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, and Furman.

Motion by Sloman, seconded by Matuska to approve the purchase of two busses for the 2011-2012 school year as recommended by the Assistant Superintendent. Yea vote: Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, and Furman.

Motion by Sloman, seconded by Cole to start renovations to the South Campus baseball field as recommended by Assistant Superintendent. Yea vote: Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, Handy, and Furman.

Motion by Cole, seconded by Hays to oil and chip at both campuses as recommended by the Assistant Superintendent. Yea vote: Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, Handy, Hays, and Furman.

Motion by Cole, seconded by Etter to approve the updated PRESS policies as presented. Yea vote: Sloman, Cole, Etter, Handy, Hays, Matuska, and Furman.

Motion by Cole, seconded by Sloman to approve the technology purchases for 2011-2012 as presented. Yea vote: Cole, Etter, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, and Furman. No vote: Handy.

Motion by Sloman, seconded by Etter to approve the payment of bills from storm damage as presented. Yea vote: Etter, Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, and Furman.

Motion by Handy, seconded by Cole to approve the 2011-2012 fee schedule as presented. Yea vote: Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, and Furman.

Motion by Sloman, seconded by Handy to go into closed session at 10:25 p.m. Yea vote: Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, and Furman.

Returned from closed session at 11:22 p.m.

May 18, 2011 Regular Board of Education Page 3

Motion by Hays, seconded by Sloman to hire the following aides for the 2011-2012 school year: Lynette Ashton –Title I, Susan Fox-Pre-K, Terri Joslin-Title I, Ruth Killam-Pre-K, Kissindra Moore-P.E. Aide (V.E.), Dawn Rigney-Pre-K, and Anna Watson-Pre-K. Yea vote: Cole, Etter, Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, and Furman.

Motion by Sloman, seconded by Cole to hire the following teachers for the 2011-2012 school year: Derek Smith- M.S. Social Studies, Krystina Cnota-H.S. Math, Sarah Trimpe-H.S. Social Studies. Yea vote: Etter, Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, and Furman.

Motion by Handy, seconded by Sloman to set the rate of pay for Stephanie Sisson (50% bookkeeper) at \$17.00 per hour. Yea vote: Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, and Furman.

Motion by Handy, seconded by Cole to hire Sarah Trimpe as Varsity Volleyball coach. Yea vote: Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, Handy, and Furman.

Motion by Sloman, seconded by Hays to hire the following extra-curricular sponsors: FFA-Lisa Harbison (Bolson), FCCLA-Hartley, Spanish Club-Cameron, FCA-Cameron, French Club-Lowry, Drama Club-Lowry/Kallenbach(Split position), Student Council-Harmon, 9th grade sponsor-Kallenbach/Powers, 10th grade sponsor-Barton/Range, 11th grade sponsor-J.Hampton/Killam, 12th grade sponsor-Beck/Leytem, NHS-B.Hampton, Fishing-B.Hampton, Key Club-Range/Kallenbach (Split position), Scholastic Bowl-McCall/Karrick (Split position). Yea vote: Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, Handy, Hays, and Furman.

Motion by Handy, seconded by Cole to change the June Board of Education Meeting to June 22. Yea vote: Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, Handy, and Furman.

Meeting adjourned at 11:28 p.m.

Board President		