NORTH MAC COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #34 Regular Board of Education Meeting January 25, 2012

1. The Regular Board of Education was called to order by Board President Steve Furman at 6:30 p.m.

Roll Call: Cole, Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, and Furman – Present. Absent – Etter.

Others Present: Marlene Brady, Ron Graham, Rob Horn, Deb Bommarito, Sarah Raynor, Patrick Bowman, Cindy Edwards, Millie Burgess, Connie Schroeder, Kris Trojcak, Jennifer McQuality, Becky Hampton, Fred Mulacek, Lori Mulacek, Diane Moore, Jon Langellier, Sharon Smith, John Smith, Drew Mulacek, Debbie Reynolds, Sarah Reynolds, Jill Murphy, Jay Murphy, George Murphy, Jacqueline Myers, Kris Eldridge, Niki Harris, Kay Cameron, Mr. Cameron.

President Furman read a thank you card from the Dean Nichols family, maternity leave request from Sara Floyd, and letters were read from Beverly Katzmore, Paul Felmet, Doris Weller Love, and Wayne Lambert requesting the board refrain from having mandatory practices/games on Sundays.

President Furman recognized Sharon Smith and Jill Murphy on their retirements from North Mac CUSD #34, and presented each with a gift from the board.

Motion by Cole, seconded by Handy to approve the agenda as presented. Yea vote – Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, and Furman. Absent – Etter.

2. Motion by Cole, seconded by Hays to approve the consent agenda as presented. Yea vote – Hays, Handy, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, and Furman. Absent – Etter.

3. Communications

3.1 Becky Hampton addressed the board requesting they re-examine their decision on French class.

3.2 Reports from Principals

- 3.2.1 Mrs. Bommarito (see attachment)
- 3.2.2 Mrs. Raynor (see attachment)
- 3.2.3 Mr. Bowman (see attachment)
- 3.2.4 Mr. Horn (see attached)

3.5 Assistant Superintendent report (see attached)

- 3.6 Superintendent report (see attached)
- 4. Continuing Business

- 4.1.1 Finance Committee Charles Handy (see attachment)
- 4.1.2 Committee for Reduction In Force Robyn Hays
- 4.1.3 CACC Board Representative Report Farley Cole (see attachment)

4.2 Motion by Sloman, seconded by Matuska to let out bids for the Energy Grant. Yea vote – Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Handy, and Furman. Absent – Etter.

4.3 Motion by Sloman, seconded by Matuska to accept the time frame for hiring an architect as presented on page 7 of the Request for Architectural Services. Yea vote – Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Handy, Hays, and Furman. Absent – Etter.

5. Motion by Handy, seconded by Cole to go into closed session at 8:40 p.m. Yea vote – Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, and Furman. Absent – Etter.

Board returned from closed session at 10:00 p.m.

6.1 Motion by Hays, seconded by Sloman, to assign John Downs to South Campus as part-time dean of students/part-time athletic director. Yea vote – Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, and Furman. Absent – Etter.

6.2 Motion by Cole, seconded by Matuska, to transfer students #624726342 and #996347853 to Safe School effective immediately. Yea vote – Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Handy, and Furman. Absent – Etter.

7. Board Concerns

7.1 The Board agreed to remove board concerns from the agenda and discussed the written communication.

Meeting adjourned at 10:09 p.m.

President

Secretary