## NORTH MAC COMMUNITY UNIT DISTRICT #34

## Regular Board of Education Minutes South Campus Multi-Purpose Room May 23, 2012

The regular Board of Education meeting was called to order by Board President Stephen Furman at 6:30 p.m. in the South Campus Multi-Purpose Room.

- 1.1 Roll call Cole, Etter, Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman and Furman.
- 1.2 Pledge of Allegiance
- 1.3 President's Remarks

The meeting was recessed at 6:45 to honor the following retirees – Deb Gripp, Ron Graham and Marlene Brady.

The meeting reconvened at 7:23.

1.4 Written Communication to the Board

A letter was read from Cindy Edwards resigning her position as Board of Education recording secretary. An annual report of the North Mac High School Agricultural Education Department was submitted by instructor Lisa Bolsen.

2. Consent Agenda

Motion by Sloman, seconded by Handy to approve the consent agenda as presented. Yea vote – Cole, Etter, Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Furman.

- 3. Communications
- 3.2 Jamie Bomkamp addressed the Board regarding the employment of her son's 1:1 aide for the 2012-2013 school year.

Connie Schroeder addressed the Board on behalf of the PBIS team. She informed the Board about the signs encouraging positive choices that are being placed in local businesses. The signs are at no cost to the businesses as all necessary funds have been raised by district staff.

- 3.3 Principal's reports
- 3.4 Assistant Superintendent's report
- 3.5 Superintendent's report

- 4. Continuing Business
- 4.1.1 Motion by Etter, seconded by Matuska to hire 3 assistant football coaches at full stipends and another part-time assistant coach at a half stipend for the 2012- 2013 school year. Yea vote Handy, Hays, Matuska, Cole, Etter, Furman. No vote Sloman.
- 4.1.2 Motion by Etter, seconded by Handy to increase volleyball official pay to \$60 for varsity and \$50 for JV for the 2012-2013 school year.
- 4.2 Infastructure committee report on energy grant. This was approved as part of the consent agenda.
- 4.3 PRESS policies updates are available. Board members need to review these updates for approval at a later meeting.
- 4.4 Mr. Graham shared information regarding prices for oil and chip for parking lots. This item was tabled for future discussion.

Motion by Handy, seconded by Cole to enter into closed session at 8:15 p.m. Yea vote – Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, Handy, Furman.

The Board returned from closed session at 9:15 p.m.

- 6.1 Motion by Handy, seconded by Sloman to hire Josh Jackson as middle school baseball coach for the 2012-2013 school year. Yea vote Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter ,Handy, Furman.
- 6.2 Motion by Cole, seconded by Sloman to hire the following extra-curricular sponsors/coaches:

FCCLA – Joan Hartley

National Honor Society - Taryn Smith

Science Club – Kelly Kallenbach

Spanish Club – Kay Cameron

Student Council – Jessica Harmon

Key Club – Kelly Kallenbach/Adrianne Range (split stipend)

Drama Club/School Play – Tina Lowry/Kelly Kallenbach (split stipend)

French Club – Tina Lowry

Scholastic Bowl – Angie McCall/Shelia Karrick (split stipend)

Yearbook – Lori Leytem

FFA – Lisa Bolsen

Class Officer

2013 - Melissa Killam, Taryn Smith

2014 – Abbi Barton, Adrianne Range

2015 – Andrea Powers, Kelly Kallenbach

2016 – Alisha Points, Cindy Gillespie

Math Club – Michael Sanchez
Assistant Middle School Baseball – Fred Mulacek
Assistant High School Football – Matt Allen, Kris Eldridge, Derrick Smith
Yea vote – Etter, Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Furman

- 6.3 Motion by Hays, seconded by Handy to hire Patti Fetter as Board of Education recording secretary effective July 1, 2012. Yea vote Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, Handy, Hays, Furman.
- 6.4 Motion by Handy, seconded by Hays to hire Dennis McMillen as North Mac Middle School Principal with a three-year contract with the first year at a salary of \$70,000. Yea vote Hays, Matuska, Cole, Etter, Handy, Furman. Present vote Sloman.
- 6.5 Motion by Etter, seconded by Cole to hire Marcie Traylor as South Campus crossing guard for the 2012-2013 school year. Yea vote Handy, Hays, Matuska, Sloman, Cole, Etter, Furman.

Meeting adjourned at 9:25 p.m.

Board President